Reference


Looking for reliable information?

Search our databases to find full-text articles and citations from journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Databases can be accessed from any computer unless they are specified as In-Library Use Only. All databases are funded by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System unless otherwise noted.

Search Databases by Subject

Arts & Humanities

Biography

Business

Careers - Education - Testing

 Current Issues

Encyclopedias 

Genealogy

General

Health & Nursing

 History

 Home & Travel

K-12 Resources 

Language Learning??

Newspapers

Science & Technology

Social Sciences 

 

Arts & Humanities

Books & Authors       Books & Authors Explore books, authors, genres, and topics and get recommendations on what to read next. Includes biographical and critical information from Contemporary Authors.
         
Communication & Mass Media        Communication & Mass Media From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field.
         
Artemis       Artemis Artemis brings together literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content, including primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies, in entirely new ways.
         
eSequels       eSequels eSequels lists more than 30,000 novels in series and has six ways to search — all of them easy. Includes annotations of every series and every book. Check here for the correct reading order and for a list of forthcoming titles in your favorite series.
         
Fine Arts       Fine Arts & Music Collection With hundreds of full-text magazines and journals covered in databases, such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
         
Literature Resource Center       Literature Resource Center Find the information you need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
         
Religion & Philosophy       Religion & Philosophy Collection Why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing, or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions and philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Biography

Biography in Context       Biography in Context Contains nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography and is updated daily. View Tutorial

Business

 

Business Economics       Business Economics & Theory Collection With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find hundreds of full-text journals to support their research.
   
Business Insights icon       Business Insights: Essentials Company profiles, financial data, investment reports, industry information, business periodicals, and more.
   
Business Collection       Business Collection Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
   
Insurance Collection       Insurance & Liability Collection Protection of assets is a concern for all; from the individual property owner to the multinational corporation, all have a vested interest in ensuring the retention of their assets, be it physical or intellectual. This collection of journals takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
   
Small Business Collection       Small Business Collection Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.
 

Careers, Education & Testing

 

Criminal Justice Collection icon       Criminal Justice Collection Targeted collection of 700+ journals covering criminal justice including law enforcement, paralegal topics, and homeland security.
   
Educator's Reference Center       Educator's Reference Complete More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
   
Vocation & Careers Collections icon       Vocations & Careers Collections Targeted collection of general career guides and highly specialized industry journals.
   
Driving Test icon       RMV Driver's Permit Practice Tests Handbooks and practice tests for Massachusetts car, motorcycle, and CDL licenses, plus FAQs about obtaining your Massachusetts driver's license.

Current Issues

 

Global Issues in Context       Global Issues in Context Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
   
Opposing Viewpoints in Context       Opposing Viewpoints in Context Information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues, with continuously updated articles, overviews, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.
   
World Data Analyst icon       Britannica World Data Analyst Comprehensive current and historical statistics on the countries of the world for historical and cross-national comparisons and the creation of tables and charts or exporting for deeper analysis.

Encyclopedias

 
Britannica icon              Britannica Online Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons from students to business professionals and lifelong learners. Offers "adult" and "kids"  interface. Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Genealogy

 
         
Ancestry icon       Ancestry Library Edition *In-Library Use Only; access funded by the Ventress Memorial Library This database offers a wealth of information in an easy-to-use format.    
  • U.S., U.K., Canada, Ireland, and other countries
  • Census data, maps, military, immigration, DAR records, slave stories, and more
View Tutorial
         
NEGHS icon       New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS) *In-Library Access Only; access funded by the Ventress Memorial Library The Ventress Memorial Library's institutional NEHGS membership provides access to more than 2,200 databases on the NEHGS Web site. The most popular databases are:                                                                                       
  • Cemetery Transcriptions
  • Massachusetts Vital Records 1841-1910
  • Massachusetts Vital Records to 1850
  • The New England Historical and Genealogical Register 1847-1994
  • Social Security Death Index

General

 

Rectangular button with the text Research in Context on it.       Research in Context Covers a wide range of topics for students in grades 6 through 8, drawing from periodicals, journals, reference books and more.
InforTrac Student Edition       InfoTracStudent Edition Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
         
Kids InfoBits       Kids InfoBits Search magazines and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more. Designed for students in kindergarten through grade 5.

Language Learning

Spanish Reference Center icon                Britannica Spanish Reference Center Includes Britannica Escolar Online, a Spanish elementary encyclopedia for grades K-8 and Enciclopedia Moderna for grades 9-12. Moderna will satisfy native Spanish speakers and students that are bilingual or just learning Spanish.

Newspapers & Magazines

 Boston Globe
The Boston Globe Full-text coverage from 1980.
 
 New York Times
The New York Times Full-text coverage from 1985.

Science

Science in Context       Science in Context Information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and website links.
         
General Science Collection       General Science Collection A collection of more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
          
Environmental Studies Collection icon       Environmental Studies and Policy Collection Collection of 700+ journals and reference books covering environmental issues policies from scientific, government, and industry perspectives?.

 Social Sciences
Criminal Justice Collection                      Criminal Justice Collection Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals.
         
Diversity Studies Collection         Diversity Studies Collection A must-have for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
         
Gender Studies Collection         Gender Studies Collection This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and much more.
         
Pop Culture Collection       Pop Culture Collection It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
         
Psychology Collection         Psychology Collection This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals — many cited in the PsycINFO index.
         
Environmental Studies Collection icon        Environmental Studies and Policy Collection Collection of 700+ journals and reference books covering environmental issues policies from scientific, government, and industry perspectives?.

MERCK MANUAL NOW ONLINE!
Click on book cover below to access...


NewsBank
Search Newspapers and Popular Magazines
 
Auto Repair Reference Center
Auto Repair Reference Center


Britannica Library Online
Britannica Library Online
Consumer Reports Online
Consumer Reports Online 


Gale Cengage
Ebooks for your research needs. And now more
Ebooks for you including travel, parenting,
gardening, movie guides. . .Try it out!

Heritage Quest
Heritage Quest, now powered by Ancestry.com, is available to you 24 hours a day through the link above. Contains census info and other genealogical data.
ANCESTRY LIBRARY EDITION IS AVAILABLE TO 
MARSHFIELD PATRONS IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.
PLEASE SEE A REFERENCE LIBRARIAN FOR ACCESS.

 


Legacy.com
Search Obituaries
 
http://www.familysearch.org



Databases Provided By the State of Massachusetts
 
Massachusetts Open Checkbook
Massachusetts Open Checkbook
 

Massachusetts Trial Court
Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries
 

Morningstar Online
Investment Research Center - The Ventress Library
no longer subscribes to premium access to this
site. All are welcome to use this link to Morningstar's
public page.

 


Salem Health Databases and eBooks
 
Salem
Salem History Databases